Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer



Non-Profit of the Year 2018

February 19, 2018  MCN was named 2018 Non-Profit of the Year by the Moraga Chamber of Commerce

For the first time in its history, the Moraga Chamber of Commerce, in addition to naming a Business of the Year, chose to honor MCN as its Non-Profit of the Year. Moraga Citizens Network received this recognition at a celebratory dinner at the Moraga Country Club on February 19, 2018. Past and present Board members attended and, together with Executive Director Ellen Beans, received the resolutions and proclamations given by The Honorable Rebecca Bauer-Kahn, 16th Assembly District, CA State Assembly Candace Anderson, Supervisor Contra Costa Board of Supervisors, District 2, and Roger Wykle, Moraga Mayor.

January 31, 2015The Moraga Citizens Network, in honor of its 10th Anniversary, was issued a Proclamation by the Town Council.

Current and former MCN Board Members receiving the proclamation from then Town Manager, Roger Wykle.


WHEREAS, in the fall of 2004 Edy Schwartz became passionate about getting more Moraga residents to participate in the Town issues and projects and knew that objective, factual information needed to be far more available than it currently was, and

WHEREAS, she communicated her vision to about 25 residents who helped her name and shape Moraga Citizens Network (MCN) on January 31, 2005 to ‘promote participatory democracy in Moraga’, and

WHEREAS, she worked with Ellen Beans and others to get people to attend Council meetings, started an electronic newsletter to announce Town meetings and agenda items and posted flyers all over Town to announce particularly informative Town meetings, and

WHEREAS, Edy Schwartz stepped aside in March of 2008 when she became President of the Chamber of Commerce in order for MCN to retain its neutrality and avoid any appearance of conflict of interest, and

WHEREAS, in 2008 Ellen Beans took on the leadership of MCN and has worked tirelessly to increase its membership, so that to date over 1400 Moraga residents receive an e-bulletin called The MCN Link, and more are connected through the MCN Facebook page, and

WHEREAS, MCN continues to promote participation in the Moraga community by providing or directing its readers to non-partisan, factual information on current issues and events, and

WHEREAS, Moraga Citizens Network is guided by a competent and committed Board of Directors which include Larry Beans, Mike Bernhardt, Tory Courtney, Denise Duff, Janet Forman, John Haffner, Tom Marnane, and Ben Olsen, and

WHEREAS, MCN’s motto of ‘keeping you in the loop’ has built a stronger sense of community, and a more informed one,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that I, Roger Wykle, Mayor of the Town of Moraga, along with my fellow Councilmembers, do hereby proclaim January 31, 2015 to be the 10th Anniversary of Moraga Citizens Network in the Town of Moraga and encourage all citizens to support this organization and facilitate greater communication throughout the Community

Signed by: Roger Wykle, Mayor